Brahms: String Quintets Review – The Takács and Lawrence Power Captivate

London Guardian
By Fiona Maddocks
April 26, 2014

Takács Quartet, Lawrence Power (viola) — Hyperion

The soaring, optimistic opening of Brahms's String Quintet No 2 in G major, Op 111 is one of the great moments in chamber music: upper strings, enriched with the addition of a second viola, shimmer and quiver, while the cello utters a plunging, jumping melody in G major. This mood of excitement continues, with a magnificent, lyrical violin tune, almost without let-up – a wistful, minor key second subject notwithstanding – to the end of this long, burgeoning first movement. It's reason enough to try this inspiring Takács Quartet disc with Lawrence Power as guest viola, his big-boned sound matching the expressive energy of the Takács's own Geraldine Walther. The String Quintet No 1 in F major is less driven, more wistful and just as captivating.

© 2018 Takács Quartet